UP’s Diouf to be named MVP 

UP’s Diouf to be named MVP 

University of the Philippines center Malick Diouf is set to be named University Athletic Association of the Philippines Season 85 men's basketball tournament Most Valuable Player after topping the statistical points race after the eliminations.

The Season 84 Finals MVP collected 73.857 statistical points more than two points clear of his closest pursuer Forthsky Padrigao of Ateneo de Manila University, who had 71.571 SPs.

The Senegalese big man played in all 14 games in the elims for the Fighting Maroons and has been a vital cog in the squad's drive for a repeat.

He had a double-double average of 10.8 points and 10.9 rebounds to go with 2.9 assists, 1.5 steals and 1.6 blocks per game.

Diouf's consistent performance powered UP to 11 wins in 14 games, finishing at no. 2 spot behind Ateneo.

He is set to become the first UP player to receive the highest individual honor after Nigerian Bright Akhuetie won the award in 2018. Diouf is the sixth straight foreign student athlete to become season MVP after Ben Mbala of De La Salle University who got consecutive awards in 2016 and 2017, Akhuetie, University of Santo Tomas' Soulmane Chabi Yo and Ange Kouame of Ateneo.

Wrapping up the Mythical Five are Luis Villegas of University of the East (69.857), Ateneo forward Dave Ildefonso (64.929), and UP's Carl Tamayo (63.429).

Green Archers' Kevin Quiambao is set to be named Rookie of the Year with 56.615 SPs ahead of other prized freshmen National University guard Kean Baclaan (51.0) and UE big man Gani Stevens (44.214).

Naturalized Filipino Ange Kouame of the Blue Eagles landed at no. 3 spot with 70.786 SPs but will not be included in the Mythical Team due to the league's rule of only one foreign student-athlete allowed in the All-UAAP team. He is still considered a foreign student-athlete by league rule as his citizenship came from naturalization.

La Salle's Evan Nelle came in fifth with 68.091 SPs but was disqualified to receive any individual award after getting a one-game ban this season.

Meanwhile, UST's Eka Soriano is the runaway winner for women's MVP with a total of 92.286 SPs.

She averaged 14.4 points, 7.1 assists, 6.3 rebounds, 3.8 steals and 0.14 blocks per game in 14 matches for the Tigresses.

Blue Eagles' Kacey Dela Rosa got 77.0 SPs in second place followed by teammate Jhazmin Joson (74.714), UST's Tacky Tacatac (73.429) while Adamson's Victoria Adeshina (72.214) complete the Mythical Five.


Daily Tribune