Macalaguim wins Orchard title

Gab Macalaguim made short work of Ace Stehmeier, 6 and 5, to win the 2023 Orchard club championships at the Orchard Golf and Country Club in Dasmarinas, Cavite on Sunday.

It was Macalaguim’s first club championship.

On his way to the final, he ousted JP Castrillo, 3 and 2, in the quarterfinals before showing the door to actor Derek Ramsay, 3 and 2, in the semifinals.

Stehmeier, on the other hand, disposed of Darwin Mago, 2 and 1, and Santino Laurel, 6 and 4.

In the Class A final, Riane Casquejo held off Anthony See, 3 and 2. He edged Josed Oca, 6 and 4, and Lu Hong Zheng, 3 and 2.

See took out Louie Garcia, 6 and 5 and Lex Macaranas, 6 and 4.

Jonas Figueroa emerged Class B champion at the expense of Julio Salvador, 4 and 3. He won his quarterfinal match with Dondi Primicias, 7 and 6, before taking out Ryan Chu, 1-up, in the semifinals.

Salvador whipped Gene Basa, 5 and 3, and got a free ride to the final after semifinal opponent Tonichi Yturri conceded.

In Class C, Dexter Lim came out on top in his final match with Rommel Hermoso, 2 and 1. He dumped Augusto Arreza, 6 and 5, and George Jaro, 2 and 1.

Hermoso defeated Joel Sarmiento, 3 and 2, and Charles Cebedo, 3 and 2.

The Class D final went 21 holes with Willy Tee Ten outlasting Jedy Gonzales, 4 and 3.

On the way to the final, Tee Ten humbled Mac Si, 5 and 4, and Ivan Justiano, 3 and 2.

Routs marked the finals in the seniors and super seniors brackets.

Kenneth Kim dumped Jock Stacey, 6 and 5, after winning by default over Joe Gonzales and Ryan Abdon, 1-up, in the senior bracket.

Stacey, on the other hand, ripped Louie Garcia, 4 and 3, and Marlon Villanueva, 3 and 2, to get to the final.

In the super seniors class, Romy Serrano walloped Vic Guzman, 7 and 6. He earlier blasted Bernie Julve, 7 and 6, and Mario Lugay, 2 and 1.

Guzman won by default over Gali Espiritu and rolled back Ed Abesamis, 5 and 4.

Roh Kyuing Ae won the ladies’ title after routing Jo Barredo, 8 and 7, while Leanne Zuniega went home with the ladies’ Class A crown after turning back Amy Dy, 3 and 1.

In the dependents’ division, Tristan Padila beat Zach Castro, 2 and 1, to bring home the trophy.

Read more Daily Tribune stories at:

Follow us on social media
Facebook: @tribunephl
Youtube: TribuneNow
Twitter: @tribunephl
Instagram: @tribunephl
TikTok: @dailytribuneofficial