‘Paeng’-affected families get SSS aid

(Screengrab from SSS / Facebook)

Members and pensioners affected by the severe tropical storm “Paeng” will continue to receive financial help from the government-run Social Security System from 17 November 2022 until 16 February 2023.

According to SSS president and CEO Michael Regino, the SSS Calamity Assistance Package consists of the Three-Month Advance Pension for SSS and Employees’ Compensation pensioners and the Calamity Loan Assistance Program for its members.

“We at SSS are always ready to assist our members and pensioners in the typhoon-stricken areas. We want to assure them that even during times of calamities, they can rely on financial assistance from SSS,” Regino said.

He said that members and pensioners in the areas that the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council, the Sangguniang Bayan, Panglungsod, or Panlalawigan deem to be in a state of catastrophe may apply for financial aid.

“Pensioners may avail of the Three-Month Advance Pension wherein SSS pensioners will be given three months advance of their total monthly pension,” Regino said.

“We want to help our members and pensioners during these difficult times. We hope that the financial aid that we extended to them will [greatly help] rebuild their lives,” Regino added.

Under the CLAP, qualifying members in ‘Paeng’-affected areas may borrow up to P20,000, which is equal to one month’s worth of monthly salary.

The calamity loan has an annual interest rate of 10 percent and is payable over two years or in 24 equal monthly installments.

The SSS would likewise offer financial assistance to SSS and EC pensioners in typhoon-affected areas.

The following provinces are classified as being in a state of calamity due to typhoon ‘Paeng’: Aklan, Albay, Antique, Basilan, Batangas, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Capiz, Catanduanes, Cavite, Guimaras, Iloilo, Laguna, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao del Norte and Maguindanao del Sur, Masbate, Negros Occidental, Quezon, Rizal, Sorsogon, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi.

In Cagayan, the towns under a state of calamity include Amulung, Enrile, and Tuguegarao.

In Marinduque, these areas are Mogpog, Santa Cruz and Buenavista, and in Cotabato, these are Pigcawayan, Libungan, and Midsayap.

Read more Daily Tribune stories at: https://tribune.net.ph/

Follow us on social media
Facebook: @tribunephl
Youtube: TribuneNow
Twitter: @tribunephl
Instagram: @tribunephl
TikTok: @dailytribuneofficial