School for the blind library renovation wins global award

Uniservitate Award hailed DLS-CSB’s TANAW: Breaking Barriers for Blind and Visually Impaired Students through Multi-Sensory and Experiential Design.

Uniservitate Award, a global program that recognizes the best Catholic Higher Education Institutions that involve the younger generation to address contemporary challenges, recently lauded Filipino Interior Design students and educators in creating an inclusive classroom adapted to the needs of the blind and visually impaired.

The award-giving body commended TANAW: Breaking Barriers for Blind and Visually Impaired Students through Multi-Sensory and Experiential Design. A renovation project, it transformed the e-Learning Resource Center of The Philippine National School for the Blind, a special institution for visually challenged junior and senior high schoolers, into an educational multisensory experience.

The 63-square meter property’s core feature is an interactive wall to encourage sensory learning that can be touched, rearranged and played with to stimulate auditory and kinesthetic senses. The flooring was specifically designed to encourage continuous accessible path of travel and notifies to take caution when approaching a change in zone.

The room provides audio-visual aids and online materials and is equipped with assistive features such as Braille system for digital learning. High contrasting hues were considered to allow better identification of various areas and furniture. For easy navigation, the room has an open space with no physical partitions. It likewise houses a teacher’s desk and workstations with supplies and facilities. The center is complete with an array of bookshelves, a computer area, a reading nook and an announcement board.

The renovation was made possible by 24 Interior Design students from the De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde, guided by Benilde Interior Design educators IDr. Randy Pabona and IDr. Maria Celiza Sim.
The team was comprised of Pamela Aldaba, Jallf Alora, Andro Bonoan, Nina Cabral, Dan Camus, Moira Campoy, Andrea De Castro, Janus De Guzman, Katrina Del Rosario, Martin Dena and Sophia De Jesus, Nigel Delos Santos, Tommy Escay, Jennifer Gongora, Raven Landicho, Nicole Lopez, Krishna Loquinte, Se Vin Moon, Jazel Ong, Arrah Pamintuan, Nicole Quiat, Paola Sarmiento, Margaux Sia, and Katrina Viloria.

Read more Daily Tribune stories at:

Follow us on social media
Facebook: @tribunephl
Youtube: TribuneNow
Twitter: @tribunephl
Instagram: @tribunephl
TikTok: @dailytribuneofficial