Connect with us


Prado shines, bags third gold



Jermyn Prado collects her third gold medal in the PhilCycling National Championships for Road in Tagaytay City. PHILCYCLING PHOTO

TAGAYTAY CITY — Jermyn Prado rode a calculated and lethal race to pedal away to her third gold medal in the PhilCycling National Championships for Road on Thursday.

With the road race (massed start) for Women Elite tracing the same route as that of the 30th Southeast Asian Games, Prado, 27, pedaled patiently in the flats and took her own sweet time before she attacked in the climb back to the Praying Hands Monument with up-and-coming Mathilda Krogg.

They went on a controlled pace to the finish of the 114-kilometer race with Prado prevailing in a friendly sprint to win her third gold medal after the criterium on Tuesday and individual time trial on Wednesday.

“Like I said, I don’t stop training,” said Prado, who clocked three hours, 21 minutes and 23 seconds, same time as the 19-year-old Krogg, who settled for the silver medal.

Krogg, however, collected her second gold medal after the criterium after emerging as the Women’s Under-23 champion.

Avegail Rombaon secured another medal, a silver, after winding up as the second-best Elite rider after Prado. The pride of Bicol, who is also riding for Standard Insurance, was seven minutes and 33 seconds off the champion.

Ma. Mhay-ann Lina settled for bronze in the race that was held under an overcast sky with a threat of rain. Due to the high probability of thunderstorms, commissaires decided to send off Thursday’s competitors in six events at five-minute intervals from the Praying Hands Monument start.

Krogg’s teammate, Kate Yasmin Velasco, clinched the Under-23 silver medal with a time of 3:24:40 and 7-Eleven Roadbike Philippines’ Phoebe Salazar was a dynamo behind the leaders and bagged bronze in 3:25:13.

Angelica Mae Altamirano (1:25:15), Lyca Angel Jacobe (1:25:43) and Althea Campana (1:25:44) finished 1-2-3 in Women’s Junior, and Steven Aaron Cerezo (1:02:04), Kyle Christian Mendajao 1:02:06) and Lester de la Cruz (1:02:06) occupied the Men’s Youth podium. Both were raced over 55 kilometers.

King Vincent Mercado (1:32:29) won gold, Khalil Sanchez (1:32:29) bagged silver and Kien Ebojo (1:32:30) clinched bronze in the 74-km Men’s Junior race, while Kim Syrel Bonilla (1:26:33), Vianne Angel Pagnanawon (1:26:34) and Rosalie de la Cruz (1:26:35) were the top finishers in the 40-kilometer Women’s Youth event that went down to a sprint finish.