Connect with us


Galedo delivers vintage performance



PHOTOGRAPH COURTESY OF MARK GALEDO/FB MARK Galedo rules the men’s individual time trial of the PhilCycling National Championships for Road 2022 in Tagaytay City.

TAGAYTAY CITY — Mark John Galedo and, again, Jermyn Prado were a class act in the individual time trial (ITT) races in Day 2 of the PhilCycling National Championships for Road 2022 on Wednesday.

Galedo, the most veteran in the field, clocked 52 minutes and 43.10 seconds to win gold in men’s ITT raced over 30 kilometers from Nasugbu to the Praying Hands Monument here, reiterating that at 37, he still packs the legs that made him a former Southeast Asian (SEA) Games winner and many time domestic tour champion.

“I prepared hard because these are the national championships,” Galedo, riding for 7-Eleven Roadbike Philippines said.

“I still feel them in my legs and I’ll go on riding.”

Philippine Navy-Standard Insurance’s Ronald Oranza and Jhon Mark Camingao finished 2-3 behind Galedo at 31 seconds and 2:22 behind.

Nichol Pareja (7-Eleven Roadbike Philippines) topped the Men’s Under-23 also raced over 30 kilometers in 55:49.20, followed by Macryan Lago (Go For Gold) 14 seconds behind and Arvin Duanne Digap close to six minutes behind.

Also shining was former SEA Games queen Pardo.

After ruling the criterium with impunity, Pardo came back smoking anew to dominate the 20-kilometer women’s ITT in 39 minutes and 14.20 seconds.

Two Philippine Navy-Standard Insurance riders completed the podium — Marianne Grace Dacumos (2:30 behind) and Avegail Rombaon (2:39 behind) — in the championships that went down in Philippine cycling history as the most attended with close to 600 riders registering across two genders and four categories.

Phoebe Salazar (7-Eleven Roadbike Philippines) clocked 41:56.10 to win gold in Women’s Under 23, followed by Philippine Navy-Standard Insurance’s Kate Yasmin Velasco (42.34 behind) and Mary Joy Zamora 1:53.80).

The other men’s category podium finishers were Lance Andrew Lumanlan (34.26), Zack Reyes (1:09 behind) and RR King Roque of Go For Gold (1:28) in Juniors and Samstill Mamites (15:24.40), Justhene Navaluna (15.73) and Mark Kairos Amban (26.20) in Youth.