Connect with us


23 Ex-FVR officials back Leni




Twenty-three former senior officials who served in the government of former President Fidel V. Ramos have expressed support for the presidential candidacy of Vice President Leni Robredo.

The 23 on Wednesday released a joint statement saying they see Robredo as someone who can lead the country towards a “unified, humane, just, progressive, economically vibrant, sustainable and equitable society.”

They said that they see in Robredo the same leadership qualities as Ramos when he served as president from 1992 to 1998.

“We believe that the country sorely needs a leader who will inspire unity, solidarity and teamwork in government and among all Filipinos,” they said in a statement.

Robredo was pictured as a president who can bring out the best from government officials and workers with her “integrity, dedication, professionalism, level-headedness, statesmanship, the pursuit of excellence and hard work.”

The said qualities were also shown by Ramos as president, they added.

Ramos founded the Lakas–Christian Muslim Democrats (CMD), the political party supporting the candidacies of former senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. and Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio as president and vice-president, respectively.

“The country needs to elect a leader who will lead us into the positive path to a unified, humane, just, progressive, economically vibrant, sustainable and equitable society that is the dream of every Filipino,” the ex-Cabinet officials said.

Likewise, they expressed grave concern that the emerging campaign for the coming elections is being compromised by “misinformation, dubious promises and outright falsehoods.”

They pointed at “deliberate thought manipulation” allegedly being carried out through social media by “mercenary troll armies” and those propagating bogus surveys.

In reaction, Robredo said she will work hard “to be worthy of the trust” expressed by the former government officials.

Among those backing Robredo are former agency heads Angel Alcala and Victor Ramos (natural resources), Delfin Lazaro (energy), Tomas Africa (National Statistics Office), Dante Canlas and Lina Laigo (NEDA), Nieves Confesor and Jose Brillantes (labor), Vicente Carlos (tourism), Benjamin de Leon (assistant at OP), Senator Frank Drilon (justice) Ramon del Rosario Jr. (finance), Ernesto Garilao (agrarian reform), Jaime Galvez Tan and Carmencita Reodica (health), Milwida Guevara (finance undersecretary), Cielito Habito, Ester Garcia (higher education), Patricia Licuanan (commission on women), Narzalina Lim (tourism), Ben Malayang III (DENR undersecretary), Edmundo Mir (public works), and Roberto Romulo (foreign affairs).