Connect with us


Tribune man wins EVMWB trophy



DAILY Tribune writer for Eastern Visayas Elmer Recuerdo (with trophy, second from left) is joined by (from left) Alangalang, Leyte Mayor Lovell Ann Yu, Police Major Winrich Lim, and Eastern Visayas Media Without Borders President Miriam Desacada after he received his trophy for the Best Agriculture Story of the Year. / PHOTOGRAPH BY ELMER RECUERDO FOR THE DAILY TRIBUNE

TACLOBAN CITY — Daily Tribune writer Elmer Recuerdo on Saturday won the best agriculture story trophy in the second Eastern Visayas Media Without Borders (EVMWB) media Awards.

Recuerdo’s story, “Agriculture heals insurgency wounds” which saw print last January, bested three other agriculture articles written by the other competitors from the other national dailies.

His piece tackled the stories of personalities in former insurgency hotbeds in Leyte that they turned into flourishing farming communities.

The awards night was held last Saturday at the historic Price Mansion in this city.

EVMWB, an organization of over 70 media workers in the region, holds the annual award to give recognition to excellent works of journalists in Eastern Visayas who are in radio, print, and online media.

The media awards, which started in 2019, were canceled last year due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Miriam Desacada, president of the media group, said the awards were a recognition of the unrelenting sacrifice of the journalists who bravely remained in the forefront amid the pandemic to deliver news and information that the public need to know.

“For nearly two years, we have been suffering from the pandemic, but the press or the media are still alive. Though there’s no sign yet that Covid-19 will be gone in the nearest months, we are proud to declare to the world that the media in Eastern Visayas continue to be healthy and brave, as it should,” Desacada said.

Communications Undersecretary Joel Sy Egco, Executive Director of the Presidential Task Force on Media Security, delivered the keynote speech on behalf of Senator Lawrence Christopher “Bong” Go.

The media group also gave recognition to police, military, and healthcare workers who delivered excellent services at the forefront of the pandemic.