Connect with us

Boto mo to!

Just one vote to win: 17 candidates in Cebu Province unopposed



Cebu provincial capitol building.

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) in Cebu Province on 18 October said that 17 candidates in the May 2022 elections are unopposed.

Based on the Comelec data, there are five candidates for mayors and nine for vice mayors who do not have opponents.

The mayoralty candidates are Joie Genesse Derama of Boljoon (One Cebu), Ace Stefan Binghay of Balamban (One Cebu), Democrito Diamante of Tuburan (Independent), Roy Vincent Singco of Ginatilan (One Cebu), and Terence Mariano Blanco of Ronda (One Cebu- Nationalist People’s Coalition).

The nine unopposed vice mayoralty candidates are Neil Tracy Plando of Alcoy (One Cebu), Raisa Moreno- Borgonia of Aloguinsan (One Cebu), Alex Francis Binghay II of Balamban (One Cebu), Ervin Villanueva of Boljoon (One Cebu), William Lagahid of Dalaguete (One Cebu-PDP-Laban), Juan Alfonso Lim of Medellín (One Cebu), Rocky Gabatan of Ronda (One Cebu-Nationalist People’s Coalition), Mariano Laude of Sibonga (Nacionalista Party), and Danilo Diamante of Tuburan (Independent).

These unopposed candidates need only one vote to win the election.

Likewise, there are three candidates in Cebu’s congressional race that are unopposed.

These are incumbents Sixth District Rep. Emmarie “Lolypop” Ouano-Dizon (running for Mandaue City’s Lone District representative), Seventh District Rep. Peter John Calderon, and Talisay City Mayor Gerard Anthony “Samsam” Gullas who is running for First District representative.