Connect with us


Gov’t adds more ‘green’ countries



The Philippines has included more countries and territories in its list of “green” states or areas tagged as low-risk for Covid-19, Malacañang announced Friday.

Included in the list were Algeria, American Samoa, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Chad, China, Comoros, Republic of the Congo, Cook Islands, Eritrea, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, and Hong Kong.

Kiribati, Madagascar, Mali, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Montserrat, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Niue, North Korea, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Poland, Saba, and Saint Helena were also classified as “green” countries.

Also included were Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Sint Eustatius, Solomon Islands, Sudan, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Tokelau, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, and Yemen.

Meanwhile, the national pandemic task force classified Romania under the “red” list. Foreigners from the said country were prohibited to enter the Philippines.

Only Filipinos returning to the country from Romania via government-initiated repatriation, non-government-initiated repatriation, and Bayanihan flights may be allowed entry, subject to testing and quarantine protocols.

Other jurisdictions or territories not listed under “green” or “red” lists have been included in the “yellow” list or states classified as moderate risk for Covid-19.

The updated classification would take effect on Saturday until 31 October.

Updated rules
The government also revised its testing and quarantine rules for travelers coming from “green” countries.

Fully vaccinated travelers from the said areas were no longer required to undergo facility-based quarantine upon their arrival in the Philippines, but they were required to present negative Covid-19 test results taken within 72 hours prior to departure from their host countries.

They were also asked to self-monitor for any coronavirus symptoms.

Meanwhile, fully-vaccinated Filipinos may opt to undergo facility-based quarantine until the release of their negative test results, but they won’t be required to do so if they prefer to immediately head to their destinations.

Unvaccinated, partially-vaccinated, or individuals whose vaccination status cannot be independently verified by authorities, as well as those vaccinated but failed to comply with the test-before-travel requirements, would likewise be asked to undergo facility-based quarantine until the release of their negative RT-PCR tests taken on the fifth day.