Connect with us


57 governors back Go’s vice president bid



At least 57 provincial governors, crossing party lines backed the candidacy for vice president of Sen. Christopher “Bong” Go and vowed to campaign tirelessly for his election to the country’s second highest elective position.

In a resolution, the governors said that as a long-time close aide to then Davao City mayor and now President Rodrigo Duterte, Go has gained wide and valuable insights on and has had to confront problems relating to both local and national governance.

“Such experience has prepared him adequately for elective public office – as senator and hopefully as vice president. Having come from the ranks of local public servants, we have no doubt that Bong Go understands the issues we face 24/7 in our respective provinces,” the resolution said.

They added that Go has institutionalized the Malasakit Center, a project he and President Duterte started before the former presidential aide joined the Senate. Bong Go is the principal author of Republic Act No. 11463, or the Malasakit Centers Act of 2019.

“The senator from Mindanao has made affordable healthcare accessible to Filipinos through the Malasakit Center, which is a one-stop shop for medical and financial assistance several government agencies allocate for the sick, who now have to go to just one office instead of laboriously seeking help from one agency to another,” according to the governors.

The governors added that there are now at least 143 Malasakit Centers in the country.

“With our support, if he is elected vice president, Bong Go promises to continue President Duterte’s programs, particularly his campaign against illegal drugs, criminality and corruption. These are some of the problems we continue to face as local officials, despite the administration’s gains in stamping out such nefarious activities,” the resolution said.

“Senator Go also promises to pursue the President’s Build, Build, Build infrastructure program, which hastens economic development and provides jobs and incomes to our people in the country,” they added.


Among the signatories of the resolution include:

  1. Gov. Ben Evardone – Eastern Samar
  2. Gov. Edwin Ong – Northern Samar
  3. Gov. Michael Tan – Samar (Western)
  4. Gov. Dominic Petilla – Leyte
  5. Gov. Damian Mercado – Southern Leyte
  6. Gov. Roger Espina – Biliran
  7. Gov. Dax Cua – Quirino
  8. Gov Jim S Hataman Salliman – Basilan
  9. Gov. Jose Alvarez – Palawan
  10. Gov. Zaldy Villa – Siquijor
  11. Gov. Imelda Dimaporo – Lanao del Norte
  12. Gov. Edgar Tallado – Camarines Norte
  13. Gov. Migz Villafuerte – Camarines Sur
  14. Gov. Jose R Riano – Romblon
  15. Gov. Dale B. Corvera – Agusan del Norte
  16. Gov Jun Ebdane – Zambales
  17. Gov. Bonz Dolor – Oriental Mindoro
  18. Gov. Nancy Catamco – Province of Cotabato
  19. Gov. Arthur Yap – Province of Bohol
  20. Gov. Wilter Palma – Zamboanga Sibugay
  21. Gov Melchor Diclas- Benguet
  22. Gov Roberto Y. Uy – Zamboanga del Norte 23. Gov Oyie Umali Nueva Ecija
  23. Gov. Gwen Garcia – Cebu
  24. Gov. Noel Degamo – Negros Oriental
  25. Gov. Jurdin Jesus M. Romualdo – Camiguin
  26. Gov. Presby Velasco – Marinduque
  27. Gov. Gerardo A. Noveras – Aurora Province
  28. Gov. Francisco Emmanuel “Pacoy” R. Ortega III
  29. Gov. Maria Jocelyn Valera Bernos – Abra
  30. Gov. Hermilando Mandanas – Batangas
  31. Gov. Bonz Dolor – Oriental Mindoro
  32. Gov. Al Francis Bichara – Albay
  33. Gov. Jose Riano- Romblon
  34. Gov. Joven Miraflores – Aklan
  35. Gov. Ayik Pimentel – Surigao del Sur
  36. Gov. Vic Yu – Zamboanga del Sur7

38Gov. Sakor Tan – Sulu

39 Gov. Joseph Cua – Catanduanes

  1. Gov. Bonifacio Lacwasan – Mt. Province
  2. Gov. Eleanor Bulut-Begtang – Apayao
  3. Gov Susan Yap Tarlac
  4. Rodito Albano III – Isabela
  5. Gov. Amado Espino III – Pangasinan
  6. Gov Frank Matugas – Surigao del Norte

46.Gov bombit alonto adiong,jr – LANAO DEL SUR

  1. Gov. Manuel Mamba- Cagayan
  2. Gov. Ramil Hernandez – Laguna
  3. Gov. Phillip Tan – Misamis Occidental
  4. Gov. Nini Ynares – Rizal
  5. Gov. Malou Cayco – Batanes
  6. Gov Mariam S. Mangudadatu Maguindanao
  7. Gov. Suharto T.Mangudadatu Sultan Kudarat
  8. Gov. Esteban Contreras – Capiz
  9. Gov. Bambi Emano – Misamis Oriental
  10. Gov. Ferdinand Tubban – Kalinga
  11. Gov. Danny Suarez – Quezon