Connect with us

Page three

Gesmundo names SET, HRET members

Alvin Murcia



The memberships in the Senate Electoral Tribunal (SET) and the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal (HRET) have been re-organized and named by Chief Justice Alexander G. Gesmundo.

Following this development, the chief justice retained to head the SET senior associate justice Estela M. Perlas Bernabe and the members include associate justices Alfredo Benjamin S. Caguioa and Ramon Paul L. Hernando as a new member.

While HRET is still headed by associate justice Marvic M.V.F. Leonen, with associate justices Rosmari D. Carandang and Amy C. Lazaro Javier as new members.

The two electoral tribunals adjudicate cases on election, returns and qualifications of the two Houses of Congress.

SET members are Senators Richard J. Gordon, Maria Lourdes S. Binay, Pia S. Cayetano, Emmanuel D. Pacquiao, Manuel M. Lapid and Francis N. Pangilinan.

On the other hand, HRET members are Representatives Dale Malapitan, Vincent Garcia, Alfredo Garbin Jr., Lawrence Lemuel Fortun, Resurrection Acop and Abdullah Dimaporo.

However, it was not known immediately if there are pending cases at the HRET and at the SET.