Connect with us
Click me!


‘Quinta’ pummels Southern Luzon; evacuees reach 26,000




Typhoon “Quinta” continued to tread its path over Southern Luzon late Sunday to early Monday, prompting the evacuation of more than 26,000 people and suspension of classes.

The typhoon was still moving west at a slightly faster pace of 30kph.

In areas where the typhoon had passed over, evacuations, floods, landslides, toppled trees, and power interruptions were reported.

“May mga power interruptions po pero all are preemptive,” said Alex Masiglat, information offier atc the OCD-Calabarzon.

A total of 24,736 people evacuated in 111 affected barangays in Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Masbate, and Sorsogon, according to the Office of Civil Defense-Bicol.

Some 1,655 people were also evacuated in Quezon, Laguna, Batangas, and Rizal, the OCD-Calabarzon said.

Earlier, dozens of residents were also reported to have evacuated in Banton, Romblon.

Classes in many parts of Luzon, including Manila, Cavite, Laguna, Quezon, were suspended for Monday, even though remote learning via the internet or modules was being implemented because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Batid natin na apektado ang internet connection, gayun din ang posibilidad na magkaroon ng power interruptions,” Laguna Gov. Ramil Hernandez said in a statement.

Suspension of classes will also allow households to prepare for incidents like floods, he added.

Storm warning signal number 3 remains over Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Albay, Burias Island, the northern and western portions of Sorsogon, southern Quezon, Batangas, the southern and eastern portions of Laguna,  northern Romblon, Marinduque, the northern portion of Oriental Mindoro, and the northern portion of Occidental Mindoro.

Despite the typhoon’s track in the south, some areas north of Metro Manila were also placed under storm warning signals.

Under signal no. 2 are Catanduanes, the northern portion of mainland Masbate, the rest of Sorsogon, the rest of Quezon including Polillo Islands, Rizal, Cavite, the rest of Laguna, Metro Manila, the southern portion of Pampanga, Bataan, the rest of Romblon, the rest of Oriental Mindoro, the rest of Occidental Mindoro, and Calamian Islands.

Signal no. 1 was hoisted over Dingalan and San Luis of Aurora; the southern portion of Nueva Ecija; the southern portion of Tarlac; the rest of Bulacan; the rest of Pampanga; central and southern Zambales; El Nido, Taytay, and Cuyo Islands of Palawan, and the rest of Masbate.