Connect with us


Samar bars LSI’s return

Elmer Recuerdo



TACLOBAN CITY — The Samar provincial Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) has approved a resolution extending the moratorium on the return of locally stranded individuals (LSI) to two cities and 13 municipalities of the province for 14 days.

The provincial IATF announced the extension of the moratorium for the return of LSI right on the day that the month-long ban on travel of LSI ended last 24 September.

The new moratorium started last 25 September and will end on 8 October. This is an extension of the province-wide moratorium on LSI return that was implemented from 25 August to 24 September.

Covered by the extended moratorium on LSI are the cities of Catbalogan and Calbayog, and the towns of Almagro, Basey, Calbiga, Gandara, Hinabangan, Jiabong, Motiong, Paranas, Pinabacdao, Sta. Rita, Tagapul-an, Talalora and Villareal. Samar province covers two cities and 24 municipalities.

The announcement was met with criticisms from LSI who have been wanting to come home for months now and have already booked tickets for their trips home.