Connect with us


Metro Manila under GCQ starting 1 June

Francis Wakefield



Pres. Duterte giving updates on the COVID-19 epidemic in Malacanang Thursday night, 28 May 2020. (PCOO)

President Rodrigo Duterte on Thursday night announced that Metro Manila will now be placed under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) starting Monday, 1 June.

In his address to the nation from the Malacañang Golf Clubhouse aired over government station PTV-4, Duterte also said Davao City, Regions 2, 3, 4A and the provinces of Pangasinan and Albay will remain under GCQ.

The rest of the country, on the other hand, will be placed under Modified General Community Quarantine or MGCQ, he said.

The President said the quarantine status may be modified depending on the general situation of the area upon review.

“In other areas, it will be again on a piecemeal basis depending on the viability of the place to meet the challenges of COVID. From time to time — from time to time Secretary Roque would give us the places where there will be changes,” he said.

Duterte was with several Cabinet secretaries comprising the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases namely Department of Education Secretary Leonor Briones, Health Secretary Francisco Duque III, Department of Transportation Secretary Arthur Tugade, Interior and Local Government Secretary Eduardo Ano and Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana, who is in charge of handling the testing and transport of returning overseas Filipino workers.

p: wjg

Click to comment