Connect with us


Free bus service has 18 routes




The Department of Transportation (DoTr) announced Thursday the addition of two more routes for the free bus service (FBS) for healthcare workers.

The new routes bring to 18 the total number of routes to serve more healthcare workers and give them more options to get to the hospital where they work during the Enhanced Community Quarantine in Luzon, DoTr said in a statement.

The buses are deployed daily to pick-up and drop off health workers at their designated hospitals at 5 a.m., 7 a.m., 1 p.m., 3 p.m., 5 p.m., and 7 p.m.

The initiative is in line with the instruction of DoTr Secretary Arthur Tugade to road sector officials to ensure the transportation of frontline health workers amid the country’s fight against the spread of the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19).

The FBS ferry not only doctors and nurses but also other hospital workers such as administration personnel, utility workers, security officers, and pharmacists.

The two new routes added to the free ride for health workers program as the following:

North East Area

North Caloocan Doctors Hospital
Dr. Jose N. Rodriguez Memorial (Caloocan)
Bagong Silang Market
National Center for Mental Health (Camarin)
Caloocan City North Medical Center
Almar Market
Novaliches Market/Queensberry Hospital
Bernardino General Hospital II
SM Fairview/Commonwealth Hospital & MC*

South West Area

Robinsons Place General Trias/Divine Grace Medical Center
San Pedro Calungsod Medical Center (Kawit)*
Binakayan Hospital and Medical Center.
St. Dominic Medical Center (Bacoor)
Baclaran Market*

*Pick-up/transfer points

For the period 18-25 March 2020, the FSB has already deployed 106 buses, and was able to cater to 1,402 health workers.

The service likewise complies strictly with containment protocols set by the Department of Health (DoH) such as the observance of physical distancing of passengers, body temperature checks, and the regular disinfection of vehicles.

The free ride for health workers program, which started with three routes and few buses, was made possible through the efforts and cooperation of the Office of the President, House of Representatives, Supreme Court, Office of the Solicitor General, Court of Appeals, Sandiganbayan, DoH, Department of Public Works and Highways, Department of Interior and Local Government, Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Department of Trade and Industry, Metropolitan Manila Development Authority, Land Transportation Office, Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board, Philippine Coast Guard, Philippine National Police, Armed Forces of the Philippines, Intellectual Property Office of the Philippines, and the Inter-Agency Council for Traffic.

Its success was also made possible through the help and cooperation of private companies such as HM Transport, San Agustin, MetroExpress, RRCG, Megaworld Corp. (Citilink), Precious Grace, Grace Transport, Ceres, Jac Liner, Dagupan Bus, St. Rose Transit, Hafti Transport, Jasper Jean, Pascual, Hi-Star, Pamana, Ube Express, G-Liner, Thelman Transit, Manrose, Pilipinas Autogroup, Beep, Star 8 and automotive company Foton.

Click to comment