Connect with us
Click me!


Task Force on zero hunger formed

Agence France-Presse



President Rodrigo Duterte has signed Executive Order No. 101 creating an Inter-Agency Task Force on Zero Hunger.

Under the EO, the President has tasked Cabinet Secretary Salvador Medialdea to chair the task force with the Social Welfare and Development Secretary Rolando Bautista and Agriculture Secretary William Dar as vice chairpersons.

Acting as members are Agrarian Reform Secretary John Castriciones, Budget Secretary Wendel Avisado, Education Secretary Leonor Briones, Environment Secretary Roy Cimatu, Health Secretary Francisco Duque III, Silvestre Bello III, Interior Secretary Eduardo Año, Trade Secretary Ramon Lopez, Science and Technology Secretary Fortunato Dela Peña, Presidential Communications Secretary Martin Andanar, National Economic Development Authority (NEDA) Director General Enesto Peña, and Commission on Higher Education (CHED) Chairperson William Medrano.

The task force members may designate an alternate to represent their respective offices in their absence. Such alternate must be fully authorized to decide for and on behalf of the Task Force member.

The Task Force shall ensure that government policies, initiatives and projects on attaining zero hunger shall be coordinated, responsive and effective. Towards this end, the Task Force shall have the following powers and functions:

a. Formulate a National Food Policy (NFP), which shall outline national priorities based on a comprehensive understanding of the problem of hunger and related issues, and shall provide a roadmap for achieving zero hunger, taking into consideration existing laws and issuances, as well as international law and treaty obligations..The NFP shall include initiatives for ending hunger, achieving food security, improving nutrition and promoting sustainable agriculture;

b. Coordinate and rationalize the efforts of concerned government agencies and instrumentalities to ensure a whole-of-government approach to attaining zero hunger;

c. Monitor and evaluate, through the identification of key performance indicators, the government’s progress in ending hunger, achieving food security, improving nutrition, and
promoting sustainable agriculture;

d. Create technical working groups from among its member-agencies to address particular concerns relative to the implementation of this Order;

e. Prepare and submit to the President annual reports on the state of hunger, food security, nutrition and agricultural production in the country, as well as the Task Force’s initiatives and recommendations relative thereto; and

f. Perform such other function as may be directed by the President.

The Task Force, meanwhile, shall have a Secretariat to be composed of personnel from its member-agencies, which shall provide administrative, operational and technical assistance to the Task Force.

The Task Force may enlist the support and assistance of other government agencies and instrumentalities in the attainment of the objectives of this Order. Local government units are enjoined to render such necessary assistance to the Task Force in the implementation of this Order.

The initial funding requirements for the implementation of this Order shall be charged against the current appropriations of the member-agencies of the Task Force. The budgetary requirements for the succeeding years shall be included in the annual budget proposals of the concerned agencies.

If any provision of the Order is declared invalid or unconstitutional, the remaining provisions not affected thereby shall continue to be in full force and effect.

Orders and issuances inconsistent with the Order are hereby repealed accordingly. The Order shall take effect immediately.

The EO was signed by President Duterte on 10 January this year.

Click to comment