Connect with us


Cayetano elected Speaker



As has been the buzz the past days, Taguig-Pateros Rep. Alan Peter Cayetano was elected Speaker of the 18th Congress―for the next 15 months that is.

From the 16th month until the end of the three-year term, Marinduque Rep. Lord Allan Velasco will assume the position.

Presidential Son and Davao City (1st District) Rep. Paolo Duterte, who elected Cayetano, manifested on the floor that he is against the term-sharing arrangement.

“The term-sharing agreement is one between Congressmen Cayetano, [Leyte Rep. Martin) Romualdez and Velasco. I am against any term-sharing agreement. However, if the Speaker resigns after 15 months, then we will have to elect a new Speaker,” Duterte said.

Cayetano got 266 votes while his lone opponent, Manila Rep. Benny Abante who subsequently withdrew, received 28.

Albay Rep. Edcel Lagman cast the only “no” vote while another two abstained.

Lagman said he voted “no” because he wanted to remain an independent opposition.

“Moreover, both candidates for Speaker, including the projected runner-up and presumptive minority leader, are the identical sides of the same supermajority coin,” Lagman added

Those who voted for Abante will be part of the minority.

Over at the Upper House, Senate President Tito Sotto received a fresh mandate from majority of the senators.

Opposition Senators Franklin Drilon, Kiko Pangilinan and Risa Hontiveros abstained.

Watch President Duterte’s SoNA here: