Connect with us


Rain, please



Filipinos better start praying for rain―or even a storm―to halt the impending massive water service interruption which Maynilad Water Services Inc and Manila Water said is beyond their control.

The water level of Angat Dam, source of 98% of Metro Manila’s supply with a storage capacity of about 850 million cubic meters, dipped to 162.33 meters on Tuesday, way below the 180-meter minimum for normal operations. The critical level is at 150 meters.

Interruption can be between 8 to 16 hours for 70 percent of Maynilad customers while some Manila Water customers already experienced low to no water supply starting Tuesday night.

The National Water Resources Board (NMRB) allocation to water distributors will be reduced to 40 cubic meters per second on 19 to 21 June from the previous 46 cms.

The Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) announced the onset of the rainy season on 14 June but it has yet to be felt while temperature continues to reach 36 degrees Celsius or more.

“We’re all hoping for rain to reach Angat Dam and the Angat watershed,” said Dr. Sevillo David, Jr., NWRB executive director.

Maynilad supplies water to Manila (all but portions of San Andres and Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of Holy Spirit and Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Pinas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon, all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite province.

Manila Water customers, numbering over six million people, are in the East Zone of Metro Manila and Rizal Province, consisting of 23 cities and municipalities. These include Makati, Mandaluyong, Pasig, Pateros, San Juan, Taguig, Marikina, most parts of Quezon City, San Andres and Sta. Ana in Manila, as well as the following cities and towns in Rizal: Angono, Antipolo, Baras, Binangonan, Cainta, Cardona, Jalajala, Morong, Pililia, Rodriguez, San Mateo, Tanay, Taytay, and Teresa.

Customers are advised to check websites, social media accounts and online portals for interruption schedules and advisories.