Connect with us


All-new films at this year’s PPP




The Pista ng Pelikulang Pilipino (PPP) has revealed the eight official entries for this year’s edition. The said entries are new films that have not been shown in any format in the country. These are going to be screened in cinemas nationwide from August 15 to 21.

1. Ang Babaeng Allergic sa Wi-Fi. Starring Sue Ramirez, Markus Peterson and Jameson Blake. Directed by Jun Robles Lana. Produced by The IdeaFirst Company Inc. A girl develops an allergy to Wi-Fi and is forced to live in a remote province, pushing her to reevaluate her relationships and the boy she believes is her one true love.

2. Bakwit Boys. Starring Vance Larena, Niko Natividad, Devon Seron, Ryle Santiago and Mackie Empuerto. Directed by Jason Paul Laxamana. Produced by T-Rex Entertainment. Four brothers known as the “Bakwit Boys” get a shot at their dreams when a rich city girl discovers their talent in music.

3. Madilim ang Gabi. Starring Gina Alajar, Felix Roco and Philip Salvador. Directed by Adolfo Alix Jr. Produced by Deus Lux Mea Films. A couple is caught up in a drug war when their son goes missing.

4. Pinay Beauty. Starring Chai Fonacier and Edgar Allan Guzman. Directed by Jay Abello.

Produced by Quantum Films and Epic Media. The film is about the perennial quest of a typical Filipina to look Caucasian and the succeeding cost that this quest for beauty entails.

5. Signal Rock. Starring Christian Bables, Francis Magundayao, Elora Espano and Mon Confiado. Directed by Chito Roño. Produced by Cape Signal Rock Films PH. A carefree no-hoper in a small town decides to help his sister in Finland win a child custody battle.

6. The Day After Valentine’s. Starring Bela Padilla and JC Santos. Directed by Jason Paul Laxamana. Produced by Viva Films. A distraught man meets a woman who helps him mend his “brokenness” and soon tags her as his “Ms. Repairman.”

7. Unli Life. Starring Vhong Navarro, Joey Marquez, Winwyn Marquez and Ejay Falcon. Directed by Miko Livelo. Produced by Regal Entertainment Inc. A famous podcast DJ is given several chances to travel back in time to change events that affect his lovelife whenever he drinks “whisky” in a bar called Turning Point.

8. We Will Not Die Tonight. Starring Erich Gonzales and Alex Medina. Directed by Richard V. Somes. Produced by Strawdogs Studio Production. A stuntwoman and all-around racketeer can’t seem to get her break. A botched deal goes total haywire and will challenge her principles and skillset as she fights for her life.