Comelec sets 2 separate barangay plebiscites in March

The Commission on Elections has set the schedule of activities for the conduct of two separate plebiscites in Marawi City, Lanao del Sur, and San Jose del Monte, Bulacan, on 18 and 25 March respectively.

For the Marawi City plebiscite, residents will decide on the creation of Barangay Boganga II and Barangay Dalidigan and their respective separation from existing Barangay Boganga and Barangay Sagonsongan.

Comelec announced the plebiscite period in the concerned electoral areas from 15 February to 21 March, as well as the campaign period from 25 February to 16 March, ahead of plebiscite day on 18 March.

The electorate of Barangay Muzon in San Jose del Monte, Bulacan, will also cast their votes for the division of their barangays into Barangay Muzon Proper, Barangay Muzon East, Barangay Muzon West and Barangay Muzon South.

Ahead of the 25 March plebiscite day, Comelec has scheduled 23 February as the start of the plebiscite and campaign period.

Within the plebiscite period in both plebiscites Comelec has ordered the suspension of construction of road works, public spending, and other prohibited acts, including the bearing, carrying and transporting of firearms and other deadly weapons.

Read more Daily Tribune stories at:

Follow us on social media
Facebook: @tribunephl
Youtube: TribuneNow
Twitter: @tribunephl
Instagram: @tribunephl
Threads: @tribunephl
TikTok: @dailytribuneofficial