Power restoration efforts in full swing


The Department of Energy has presented initial damage assessment on the effects of tropical storm “Rosita” at the briefing conducted by the Office of Civil Defense – Region 2 in Hotel Andrea in Cauayan City, Isabela on 1 November.

In a statement, Energy Chief Alfonso Cusi reassured the public restoration efforts will again be in full swing despite having completely restored energy services in areas affected by typhoon “Ompong” just last 26 October.

“The energy family is utilizing all available resources to help those affected by typhoon “Rosita” so that electricity will be restored at the soonest possible time. This will support the ongoing relief and rehabilitation efforts being conducted by the government,” Cusi said.

Typhoon “Rosita” affected 15 distribution utilities, mostly electric cooperatives, serving more than 200 municipalities and cities, more than 4,000 barangays and around 1.5 million households in Regions I, II, III and Cordillera Administrative Region.

As far as the power generation sector is concerned, the National Power Corporation reported the following status of the Small Power Utilities Group in the affected areas: Cagayan-Calayan (no communication since last report of normal operation on 29 October); Balatubat-Minabel (no communication since last report of normal operation on 30 October); Isabela Maconacon (as of 31 October, restored operations in the area of Maconacon only); Divilacan-Palanan Plant (ready for operation; on 29 October, forced shutdown due to “Rosita”); Aurora-Casiguran (on 31 October restored operations in Casiguran area only) and Apayao-Kabugao (on 31 October, restored operations with distribution lines partially restored).

In Batanes service Basco, Itbayat and Sabtang reported normal operations.

Meanwhile, operators of the power generation plants connected to the grid reported all plants have been secured and none sustained any damage.

For the transmission sector, the National Grid Corporation of the Philippines counted a total of 51 transmission lines affected in North Luzon. The areas affected by power interruption are: The provinces of Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, Abra and La Union (North Luzon District 1); Benguet and Mountain Province (North Luzon District 2); Pangasinan (North Luzon District 3); Nueva Vizcaya, Ifugao, Quirino, Isablea, Cagayan and Kalinga-Apayao (North Luzon District 4); Bataan and Zambales (North Luzon District 5) and Tarlac, Pampanga, Nueva Ecija and Aurora (North Luzon District 6).

What are your thoughts?

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here