Taguig rues Senate inaction

Photo from facebook

A bill of Rep. Pia Cayetano for an enabling law officially creating 10 additional barangays in Taguig City has gathered cobwebs at the Senate, according to village officials yesterday.

The barangays that have yet to be recognized are Barangay Central Signal, North Signal, South Signal, Katuparan, North Daang Hari, South Daang Hari, New Lower Bicutan, Central Bicutan, Tanyag and San Miguel.

Without the enabling law, the barangays cannot be given their share in the internal revenue allocations for Taguig City, Barangay San Miguel head Vicente Espital said.

Espital lamented they have not been getting their honoraria because Cayetano’s bill had languished before the Senate Committee on Electoral Reforms since last year.

He said they have already attended the committee’s hearing in 2017 but nothing was heard of concerning the bill’s progress at the Senate.

A city ordinance alone cannot create barangays because the Local Government Code mandates the passage of enabling laws to recognize newly created barangay units. The bill of Cayetano was already approved by the House of Representatives

In all, 12 barangays had been created from the original 16 barangays in Taguig City, but the House only approved 10.

The creation of Barangays Pinagsama and Fort Bonifacio had been rejected by the House due to incomplete paper works.

What are your thoughts?

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here